Pastor, true preaching honors God. Does yours?

"True preaching is an acceptable adoration of God by the manifestation of his gracious attributes"

Shepherding with Spurgeon

Weekly Newsletter for Pastors from SpurgeonBooks

ENCOURAGEMENT FOR PASTORS (BY SPURGEON)

True preaching is an acceptable adoration of God by the manifestation of his gracious attributes: the testimony of his gospel, which pre-eminently glorifies him, and the obedient hearing of revealed truth, are an acceptable form of worship to the Most High, and perhaps one of the most spiritual in which the human mind can be engaged.

SERMON ILLUSTRATION FROM SPURGEON

Spurgeon was a master illustrator. You can use this illustration in your own preaching to describe our sin and God’s grace.

I have heard of an emperor casting eyes of love on a peasant girl. It would have been monstrous for her to have first looked up to him as likely to be her husband; everybody would have thought her to be bereft of her senses had she done so. But when the monarch looked down upon her and asked her to be his queen, that was another thing. She might take leave to love from his love.

Often my soul says, “O God, I cannot help loving you, but may I? Can this poor heart of mine be allowed to send up its love to you? I, polluted and defiled, nothingness and emptiness and sinfulness, may I say, ‘Yet do I love you, O my God, almighty as you are’? ‘Holy, holy, holy,’ is the salutation of the seraphim, but may I say ‘I love you, O my God’?” Yes, I may, because he first loved me. There is love’s license to soar so high.

ONE MORE REMINDER: PREACH JESUS THIS WEEKEND

“Leave Christ out of the preaching and you shall do nothing.” — Charles Spurgeon